Call Us 413-592-8118

Fifteen cars and SUVs have earned the highest honors from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) despite stiffened requirements in 2018.

To become an IIHS Top Safety Pick+ (TSP+), all vehicles must offer industry-leading front, side, rear, and rollover crash protection. In addition, all vehicles must feature proactive crash prevention and advanced headlight technology.

Of the TSP+ winners, Korean brands Kia, Hyundai, and Genesis (all owned by Hyundai Motor Co.) lead the pack with six wins. Japanese automaker Subaru is second with four wins, followed by German automaker Mercedes-Benz with two. Toyota, BMW and Lincoln each have one win.

Small cars

  • 2018 Kia Forte
  • 2018 Kia Soul
  • 2018 Subaru Impreza
  • 2018 Subaru WRX

Midsize cars

  • 2018 Subaru Legacy
  • 2018 Subaru Outback
  • 2018 Toyota Camry

Large luxury cars

  • 2018 BMW 5 series
  • 2018 Genesis G80
  • 2018 Genesis G90
  • 2018 Lincoln Continental
  • 2018 Mercedes-Benz E-Class

Midsize SUVs

  • 2018 Hyundai Sante Fe
  • 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport

Midsize luxury SUV

  • 2018 Mercedes-Benz GLC